Joe Satriani new release “Shockwave Supernova”


Joe Satriani recently published his new realease “Shockwave Supernova” on the 24th of July. The member of the crew are the same that supported him during the tour: the guitarist Mike Keneally, the drummer Marco Minnemann and the bass player Bryan Beller. For the production Satriani collaborated once more with John Cuniberti, with whom sealed a storic partnership in the distant 1986 with Not of this earth, his first album released as a guitarist, and the legendary followup, Surfing with the Alien.

This is the 15th release of the amazing guitarist virtuoso and it’s available in double cd and digital download. Shockwave Supernova has been recorded in the Skywalker Sound studios of Lucas Valley in California.

“I couldn’t have asked for a better band to help bring these songs to life”

In 4 out of 15 pieces of the album – Keep On Movin, In My Pocket, Crazy Joey e Scarborough Stomp – the artist is accompanied by the famous drummer Vinnie Colaiuta (who played with Sting, Frank Zappa and Paul Simon) and by Chris Chaney, bassist of Jane’s Addiction.

Satriani is also involved in an animated project, a science fiction series called Crystal Planet created with Ned Evet.


Where did Satriani find the inspiration for this concept album? Shockwave Supernova is an alter ego he developed after an epiphany he had during a concert of his two-year Unstoppable Momentum tour. He found himself  “playing the guitar with my teeth an awful lot. I thought, ‘Why are you doing this?’ It’s as if something else, or somebody else, was driving me to do it.”

This moment of self-realization created a new skin in which he wanted to dive in, more outlandish and extroverted that helped him to launch his ambitious 15th solo album.

I had a funny thought that I use this alter ego to kind of push me out there and be a showman, because that’s not really how I am, I’m usually more the shy, retiring type. Then I had this daydream that Shockwave has come to the end of the road, and the artist that dreamt him up has to retire him. But then he realizes that he really has to turn him into something else, something better. The songs that I’ve been writing over the past two years sort of address that transformation, what this guy Shockwave is thinking. It’s a crazy, funny concept.

01. Shockwave Supernova
02. Lost In A Memory
03. Crazy Joey
04. In My Pocket
05. On Peregrine Wings
06. Cataclysmic
07. San Francisco Blue
08. Keep On Movin’
09. All Of My Life
10. A Phase I’m Going Through
11. Scarborough Stomp
12. Butterfly And Zebra
13. If There Is No Heaven
14. Stars Race Across The Sky
15. Goodbye Supernova

Next fall the Shockwave Tour will travel around Italy and in november in the UK to spread then itself around the world.


About Author

Internet of - Music magazine, news and internet radio.

Leave A Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.